top of page
St. Mark’s Lutheran Church is an architectural landmark.
Our church’s structure represents much more than physical beauty. Its tower inspires heavenly aspirations, while its solid limestone exterior embraces the here and now. The building conveys a sense of enduring strength to the community – especially during difficult times. In addition, the church is an integral part of our town’s fascinating past.
In 1875, Pastor Simeon W. Harkey delivered the first sermon at St. Mark’s to a congregation of 19 in a rented building. That year, construction began on a new church at Walnut and Elm. The building was dedicated on August 26, 1877, but growth in the coming decades forced the church to consider expanding again.
bottom of page